Hello my crafty friends! After a few months of traveling, I am reunited with my crafty supplies…reunited and it feeels soooo gooood! Haha. I’ve been on a card making frenzy the past couple days, and I’m feeling inspired to share what I’ve made so far. So for today, here’s a baby card:

It's A Boy Balloons

My cousin is pregnant with her second child, and they just found out that it’s a boy! As soon as I found out, I felt inspired to make this card to celebrate the announcement with them.

I started off with a kraft card base (I stock up on the packs of 25 or 50 pre-scored cards and matching envelopes at Michaels and it makes it so much faster for me to both get a card started and out in the mail!) and used the largest Simon Says Stamp stitched rectangle die to cut out some blue patterned paper to adhere on top.

I then die cut three balloons with my Stampin Up Celebrate Today! Coordinating Dies in three different colors of blue cardstock, including a blue glittery cardstock from DCWV (6″ by 6″ pack). I grabbed my Lawn Fawn Quinn Capitals Alphabets Dies and die cut the words “It’s A Boy,” one word out of each balloon (making sure not to lose the inside parts of the letters…that center of the A was tiny!). I used my Zig Two Way Glue Pen to glue them all down  and then started searching through my random ribbon scraps box to find that blue yarn for the balloon strings. I used Beacon 3-in-1 glue (love that stuff!) to tuck the strings under the balloons, and also dabbed a bit of glue further down on each string so that I could kind of bunch them together.

14152185_10207192831594517_1314947852_o.jpg

For finishing touches, I used some blue star sequins that I had from a random pack of confetti, plus some varying shades of blue sequins that I picked up at Dollar Tree (6 packs of different colors for just $1! I’m not fancy enough for the specialty sequin craze going on right now), adhering them all down with Ranger Glossy Accents (I really need to pick up some Ranger Multi-medium Matte the next time I’m in my local craft store!).

On the inside of my card, I adhered some white cardstock that I had cut with another of the Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles so that I could write a message, and that finished it off!

It’s been my goal to make sure I send the cards I make, and I was able to get this out into the mail the very next day after the announcement, so I was feeling pretty good about that! This is something that I’ve been hearing a lot from fellow crafters, so I think I’ll share my new mail center organization that has been helping me be more efficient in that, in case it helps you!

Hope you enjoyed the card and that you are getting into your own paper capers!

Cheers,

Nicole

