For the first Luvly Stampers Crafty Weekend Warrior challenge by Wendy Cranford, the prompt was to use the color combination below. I think these colors are so beautiful together! Well, the only problem was that I didn’t have those exact Stampin’ Up inks, so I had to use some creativity to replicate them using Stampin’ Up products for my card!

CWW1 Challenge.PNG

I busted out my Stampin’ Up watercolor crayons (a retired product) and was able to combine a few of the crayons of the older colors together to match the Watermelon Wonder and Mint Macaron shades. I actually think I got the colors pretty close! So I made a watercolor striped background alternating between the two colors and I think it’s a really pretty look. I like the loose messiness of it.

Big Day CWW 1

Also, since yesterday was the last day of this year’s Saleabration, I decided to feature past Saleabration sets in this card (I’m excitedly waiting for my order of this year’s Saleabration products to arrive!). So I took some black cardstock and white heat embossed a combination of sentiments from the Stampin Up “Big Day” set (from a previous year’s Saleabration), and cut it into a large banner for the middle of the card. I put a little bit of foam tape under the bottom of the banner and curled the ends to give some extra dimension. The card was finished off by matting everything on more black cardstock.

To make the matching envelope, I took a balloon and string from another past Salebration set called Party Pants. This time I had to try to come close to the Watermelon Wonder color with an ink and I found the solution by doing second generation stamping with an ink that I already had. I messed up stamping the balloon strings a bit, but it was late and I was too tired to redo it, so there you go! It went to my husband’s friend for her birthday today and I’m sure she’ll enjoy a card handmade with love, smudges and all!

Happy paper capers!

Nicole

