I’m back with a second card inspired by the prompt from this week’s Crafty Weekend Warrior Challenge! CWW1 Challenge

This time I featured the Celebrate Today! stamp set and coordinating Balloon Framelits dies from the 2016-2017 Stampin’ Up catalog. I again had to improvise with the colors I had, so I started off by stamping the balloon image with the word Happy in a tealish color to match Mint Macaroon – I achieved this look through second-generation stamping, where you stamp the inked-up image first on a scratch paper and then stamp it again on your actual paper to give you a lighter look.   I also did second-generation stamping with the faux Watermelon Wonder ink to stamp the star confetti onto the balloon and finished the balloon off by black heat-embossing the cursive ‘birthday’ stamp.

Celebrate Today CWW 1.jpg

I love how you can take this stamp set and transform the balloons into hot-air balloons, which is what I decided to do here. I white heat-embossed the hot-air balloon basket on black cardstock I had cut into a banner, and then I took the balloon shape (which I had die-cut with the coordinating Balloon Framelits die) and adhered it to the black banner.

Celebrate Today CWW 1

For the background, I took the banner stamp from the same Celebrate Today! stamp set and repeatedly stamped it before heat-embossing it all with clear embossing powder. I finished the card off by hand-drawing some black stitched lines around the “Watermelon Wonder” cardstock. And finally, for a coordinating envelope, I stamped two balloons with the Party Pants stamp set.

You can achieve a similar look with these products from my store!

 

Happy paper capers!

Nicole

